Turn Clothes Pins Into Drink Markers

Drink-Markers_2

A couple weeks back, I paid a long overdue visit to one of my favorite little shops in Vancouver: Urban Source.  Have you been here?  This place is SO. MUCH. FUN.  Totally not being sarcastic, it really is a lot of fun!  Anyway, I digress.  So, yeah, I was there after not having been in a long time and it was just great.  It’s a store for all creative types.  Basically, Urban Source carries all sorts of odds and ends of various medium (paper, foil, leather, beads, plastics, etc) that have been saved from the scrap pile.  It’s also a great place to go if you’re looking for “just a bit of something.”  For example, I’ve been wanting to buy a few inches of leather strips to make belt loops for some of my belts that came without.  Well, Urban Source had leather fringe that I could use and I got them for a song!

Not only did I get some leather scraps there, I also picked up some old school clothes pins.  They were found in the bulk barrel section (choose a bag size and fill it up with as many items as you can fit into that bag), but the owner was very willing to sell them to me individually for $0.15 a piece.  Now, I did the math (as I do) when I later found these same clothes pins at Dollar Tree and the $0.15 I paid for each pin was a way better bargain than even buying a pack of five (or was it four?) from the dollar store.  Yay!  Now, I must tell you that not everything is dirt cheap at Urban Source.  They have Scrabble tiles for sale at $0.35 each, which I bought for $0.15 in Kensington Market in Toronto.  I know, Toronto is nowhere near to Vancouver, but it was the best price comparison I had up my sleeve.

I liked the clothes pins and decided I’d turn them into drink markers.  I also found a small piece of decorative card stock at Urban Source to ornament my drink markers.  I chose to use numbers, but there are endless possibilities you could use as ornaments.

Drink-Markers_supplies

Your supply list will include:

Clothes pins
Card stock of numbers (or any images that suit your fancy)
Scissors
Glue stick

Drink-Markers_glue

Cut the numbers on the grid and glue to the tops of the pins.

Drink-Markers_1

Place your new drink markers on the rim of a glass.

That’s it!  So simple, huh?  After the party, I was able to remove the numbers with a little soap and water, so I can use these clothes pins again for new drink markers with new imagery to match the theme of my next soiree.

Drink-Markers_3

Total Time: Ten minutes.

Total Cost: $0.15 for each clothes pin, $0.50 for the card stock.  The card stock I chose could yield 36 drink markers, however, I only needed 14.  Each drink marker was a total of $0.18 after taxes.

Redesigned-Signature

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Dread Velvet

     /  March 28, 2013

    Totally doing this for my wedding this fall! How adorable.

  2. Thank you! Congratulations on your upcoming wedding!

  3. What a cute idea! Love this for holiday parties too.

  4. Thank you! ~M.

Leave a Reply

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!

