Bare Bulb Gets A Lamp Shade

Entry-Light_title

The light fixture in my entry was just a bare bulb for several months.  After I cleaned up the area with a fresh coat of paint and a redesign, the original glass shade that came with the house no longer applied to the new look.  Until one day while browsing HomeSense, a Moroccan-inspired tealight lantern caught my eye.  Three long chains connected at the top to a hook that was meant to hang from a ceiling hanger.  I loved the mercury glass and it would create a lot of interest in an otherwise modern, minimalist space.

Entry-Light_before

The tealight lantern was repurposed into a lamp shade for this bare bulb.  The tealight holder came out easily as it wasn’t attached to the glass.

Entry-Light_detail

Cup hooks were screwed into the ceiling, the chains were shortened and then hung from the cup hooks.  Easy breezy!

Entry-Light_after

I really don’t know what else to say except that I’m so happy to not enter my house with a bare bulb over my head anymore.

Total time: Half an hour; includes locating the cup hooks to where they line up with the chains and adjusting the lengths of the chains as I found out that the chain links were not all equal.

Total cost: $28, after taxes.  Definitely not the cheapest lamp shade I could find, but it’s absolutely more interesting than anything else in the big box stores.

Redesigned-Signature

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!

