Client Project: New Bedroom Light

My friend, Chelsey, bought a beautiful decorative sphere made of driftwood pieces laced together from HomeSense awhile back.  Her intent was to turn it into a ceiling light fixture for her bedroom, but didn’t quite know how to make it happen.  That’s when she asked me for help and I was only too happy to take on the challenge.

Chelsey's-Lamp_ball-before

I’ll admit that I’d never done any hardwiring before.  Mr. M has always replaced any hardwired fixtures in our house, so I asked him to come out to Chelsey’s house to help us with that bit.  As for turning this gorgeous ball into a light… well, that was something I was just going to have to figure out how to do!

Chelsey's-Lamp_before

I can see why Chelsey wanted a new ceiling fixture here.  This builder basic flush mount isn’t doing this bedroom any favors.  I could see this driftwood piece would really sing in here.

It took a little work, and to be honest, we didn’t get it right the first time.  I had the lamp kit, but failed to buy the right canopy kit and locknuts to go with it, so the ball kept sliding through the cord.  *major mental head smack*  I warned my friend about this and she was very kind to understand that this project required a learning curve for me.  I had to return a second time to get it right and I finally did it!

Chelsey's-Lamp_on-off

Mr. M wasn’t available for the second trip and I didn’t think his services would be needed, but we were wrong!  Chelsey and I just rolled up our sleeves and learned how to un-hardwire the fixture, then hardwire it back up again.  And you know what?  It wasn’t that difficult at all!  At least now I know how to do it, so that’s another thing I won’t need to ask a man to do for me anymore!  *happy dance*

Isn’t this new light fixture beautiful?  I am so proud of us for making this work.  I absolutely love love love the shadows the light casts.  It’s like a rose on the ceiling.

Chelsey's-Lamp_ceiling

Special thanks to Jen Ramos over at Made By Girl for her excellent tutorial that helped us achieve this fantastic result.

And THANK YOU, Chelsey, for believing in me enough to help you with this great DIY project!  (Hope your husband approves of it now!)

Redesigned-Signature

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. This turned out fantastic. Great idea!

  2. Thank you!

  3. You’re welcome. I love when I stumble across great things.

Leave a Reply

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!

