redesigned: Brass To Class Painted Headboard

Guest-Room-Headboard_before-1

I found this really awesome brass headboard in the Free section of Craigslist a couple years back.  Man, gotta love the Free section on Craigslist!  It’s a great source when you need furniture.  I was looking for a headboard to use in our guest bedroom and this one had the perfect price tag.  As soon as I saw it, I knew that it just needed some updating with a fresh coat of paint.

Guest-Room-Headboard_before-2

This headboard was so vintage, in the uncool sense of that word.  Look at the white balls with flowers!

Guest-Room-Headboard_before-3

And all the turning.  Can you use that term for metal, or is it only used for wood?

This was a really easy and quick paint job.  I took the headboard out to my backyard, laid it on a drop cloth, and shot a light coat of black spray paint all over it.  I didn’t even have to prime it or take the headboard apart!  (Is it odd that I’m speaking with a Southern accent in my head as I write this…?)

Then when the first side dried, I turned it over and spray painted the second side.  After the headboard was dry to the touch, I brought it back inside and set it along an empty wall until the paint cured.  Then I put it in place in the bedroom.

Guest-Room-Headboard_final

Quite the improvement, don’t you think?  I love it!  No more brass, no more flowers.  Just all class, baby.  😉

Total time:  Not including dry time, it took me only half an hour to paint the whole thing.  With dry time, it took about two hours outside on a nice, warm day.  I let it cure for about a couple of days, just to really make sure.

Total cost:  The headboard was free and my can of paint was leftover from my art school days, so that was free too!  

Follow me on Twitter and Pinterest!

Redesigned-Signature

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Love the bed. Brass can really clean up nicely, you know. 🙂

    Check out my recent redo of my brass lamps!

  2. Looks beautiful! I can’t believe it was free! Brilliant! 🙂

  3. Thank you! I love when my free finds get a fabulous makeover.

Leave a Reply

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!

