reorganized: Making Sure Your Duvet Stays In Place

Do you ever battle with a duvet insert that won’t stay put in the duvet cover?  Sometimes you might wake up with corners that are all duvet cover and no insert?  Then you have to shake the cover to get the insert to get back into place, only to repeat the process again the next morning.  Annoying, isn’t it?

A conversation with a friend of mine made me realize that I wasn’t the only person who waged this war with the duvet insert that wouldn’t stay in place.  Luckily, I had it figured out by the time she and I spoke.  Did you know that the duvet inserts and duvet covers come with corner ties?  These are sewn in there to help with the insert-seceding-from-the-corners problem!

How to keep a duvet insert in place | Redesigned By M

Here’s an image of the ties in the cover and the ties on the insert.  For a while, I had an insert without a cover, but I remember there were these straps hanging off the corners, which have torn off over time as the insert was never encased.  The ones you see here (in the right image) have been hand sewn on by me.  So, if you don’t have these ties in your cover and insert, you can definitely sew some on with a few inches of ribbon.

How to keep a duvet insert in place | Redesigned By M

Then the cover and insert gloriously stay together by tying the straps together.  You’ll never have a bare corner again!

How to keep a duvet insert in place | Redesigned By M

The other trick is that if you have a duvet insert that is not perfectly square, sew on a mark in one of the corners to easily distinguish which direction the duvet should be turned.  I’ve done my upper left corner in a contrasting blue thread so it’s eye catching.  I know that this blue mark always goes in the upper left corner of my bed.  I never insert the duvet the wrong way anymore!

I hope today’s little {reorganized} tip helped!

Redesigned is now on TwitterPinterest, and Instagram.  Follow me!

Redesigned-Signature

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Great idea! I experience this all the time.

  2. Phew! I’m so glad I wasn’t the only one!

  3. Glad I came across this. My duvet has been waging war on me for quite some time now. Ribbon store here I come. Thanks for visiting and liking my blog post btw 🙂 – http://wordsandswords.wordpress.com/2013/04/07/dangle-all-the-way/

  4. Yay! I’m so glad I could help. Thanks for paying me a visit in return. ~M.

Leave a Reply

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!

