How To Hang A Group Of Picture Frames

This weekend, I finally got around to hanging some frames in my entry.  Since I was hanging a grouping of them, I decided I’d try out the method of hanging frames using paper templates.  I’ve shied away from using this system before because I don’t like wasting paper.  As these frames were small, I felt I could just use scratch paper without feeling an immense amount of guilt.  Let’s get started.

How To Hang A Group Of Picture Frames | Redesigned By M

Step 1. I started with laying out the frames on the floor to see how I wanted to hang them.

How To Hang A Group Of Picture Frames | Redesigned By M

Step 2. Then I traced the frames onto some scratch paper and cut out the paper.

How To Hang A Group Of Picture Frames | Redesigned By M

Step 2a. For larger frames that exceeded the size of a standard 8.5″ x 11″ paper, I taped several sheets together.

How To Hang A Group Of Picture Frames | Redesigned By M

Step 3. Before transferring the templates to the wall, I located the hangers on the back of the picture frames and punched out the necessary holes where the picture hooks would go.

How To Hang A Group Of Picture Frames | Redesigned By M

Step 4. Using painter’s tape, I hung the paper templates on the wall in the same layout I had planned on the floor.  The upside of using this system is that I could fudge the locations as I needed without putting a bunch of holes in the wall.  You can see how I already adjusted the orientation of one of the frames from Step 1.

How To Hang A Group Of Picture Frames | Redesigned By M

Step 5. When I felt all the templates were placed accurately, I drilled the screws into the templates.  After the screw went in, I tore down the paper from the wall and hung up the frame.

I kind of liked this method of hanging frames.  It certainly saved me a bunch of headache in getting all the frames to line up properly and evenly.  I don’t think I would necessarily do this with larger frames because of the whole paper wasting thing, but maybe I will.  Who knows!

Redesigned is now on TwitterPinterest, and Instagram.  Follow me!

Redesigned By M

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. This is a really great idea… something I’d never thought or heard of. I’m hoping to put up lots of nice pictures when we move house (hopefully soon!) 🙂

  2. I’m so glad I could share a tip that you hadn’t heard of before. I’ve seen this around for so long that I thought everyone knew about it already! ~M.

  3. I think it’s a great idea to use paper templates! you could just go for newspaper to feel less guilty 😀

  4. I love the rustic frames against the geometric stripes – makes for a nice contrast!

  5. Oh.my.God. Of course!!! Why didn’t I think of that? Newspaper would make great templates for the larger frames, too! Thanks so much for the tip! ~M.

  6. Thank you!

  7. I too have a picture wall – it’s a mess – if only I had read this first!!

  8. Aww! Is it too late to change things around?

  9. not at all – I’m just being lazy!

Leave a Reply

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!

