reused: I’ll Never Have To Buy Green Onions Again

Grow Green Onions From Clippings | Redesigned By M

I’ve pinned a ton of tips and ideas from Pinterest, but here’s one that I actually got around to trying.

When I saw that you could regrow green onions (also known as scallions) from their leftover stubs, I had to pin it.  I love green onions, but I find that I don’t get around to using the whole bunch before they dry up and go bad.  Even if a bunch only costs $0.50, I just don’t like waste in any form.

Grow Green Onions From Clippings | Redesigned By M

All you need are the last bits of green onions with the roots…

Grow Green Onions From Clippings | Redesigned By M

Place them in a vessel and fill with water.

Grow Green Onions From Clippings | Redesigned By M

And a week later, you get this.  Amazing, isn’t it??  I gotta say… that definitely, does NOT suck.

Grow Green Onions From Clippings | Redesigned By M

The clippings actually start growing back in a few hours.  It’s kind of unsettling how quickly it grows back, if you choose to think about it in a horror-film sort of way.  See that shoot on the far left?  That was growth from 9PM the night before to 8AM the next day.

Here’s what I learned in my science experiment:

  • You only need about a minimum of 1/2″ clipping of the very, very white part of the stem.
  • Warm or cold water is irrelevant.  I think.
  • Sun is not necessary for regrowth.  I kept the glass on my counter in the dark kitchen for a day and they were still sprouting new shoots.  As for keeping them more than a day or two in darkness… well, I dunno.  I moved my glass to the sunroom after Day 2.
  • The water does get a bit cloudy after Day 3 or 4, so it’s best to keep on it and change it periodically, if not everyday.
  • Further research makes me understand that this process cannot be repeated indefinitely without repercussions.  Eventually (and I don’t know this from first hand experimenting), the stems dry up and don’t regrow anymore.  To avoid this, you’ll need to plant the stubs in soil, which will give you green onions forever.  I guess, I’ll be doing a little gardening soon!

Grow Bok Choy From Clippings | Redesigned By M

I played with the stub of some bok choy and that seems to be sprouting some new growth, too!  This photo is from Day 2 or 3… I can’t quite remember.  After Day 7, I don’t have an entirely new stalk yet, but the leaves have gotten taller and there’s a nice yellow flower in the center!

I have read that you can also regrow celery and romaine lettuce in this fashion.  I’m excited to try them all!

Have you tried this tip?  What sort of results have you gotten?

Linking to: Crew & Lu, Atlanta Mom of Three, Happy Hour Projects, Petals to Picots

Follow Redesigned on TwitterPinterest, and Instagram.

Redesigned By M

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. I do the exact same thing! You can also try lettuce

  2. Thanks for the tip! I’ll definitely have to try lettuce. ~M.

  3. I may have to try this. I hate wasting produce too!

  4. Do it, Anjana! It’s SOOOO easy to manage, and I swear I kill every green plant I’ve ever had in my house. ~M.

  5. I tried this too but after a while my onions got pretty yellowish. I’m thinking of adding some soil for nutrients. It’s a great tip though—thanks for sharing!

  6. Thanks for the tip! How long did it take before the onions yellowed? Just seeing how long I have to procrastinate on the transfer. 😉 ~M.

  7. Valerie

     /  May 3, 2013

    That’s awesome! I should definitely do this. I’m not gardening this year (outside) but I could do this! 🙂

  8. I feel the same! I am not a gardener (although I do plan to give it a go this year), but this was one project I could DEFINITELY do! ~M.

  9. Valerie

     /  May 3, 2013

    I grew tomatoes in big buckets on our deck one year and it was so rewarding! I plan to do it again, just not this year. 🙂

  10. So awesome… I am doing this stat!

  11. smallftprints

     /  May 4, 2013

    This is such a great idea. I’ve tried the celery but not the green onions. I will now! Thanks for sharing your experiences! 🙂

  12. Mmm… would love to have fresh tomatoes at my beck and call!

  13. Do it!!! It’s unbelievably easy and low maintenance and highly rewarding.

  14. Awesome! How did your celery turn out? I’m gonna do that next time I need some celery for a meal.

  15. smallftprints

     /  May 4, 2013

    The celery worked well although it was slow growing so I never got big stalks. I got small ones, though, which were great for soups and stews. Had I been patient, I probably would have gotten larger ones. 🙂

  16. Good to know! I love love love celery hearts for soups! Unbelievable how much flavor they add. ~M.

  17. I think it was about two weeks. The first growth was fine but after that they came back yellow.

  18. I’m trying this!

  19. Awesome! Let me know how it turns out for you. ~M.

  20. I will. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!

