repurposed: Random Things Found In My Kitchen

Kitchen-Repurposed-Items_Title

There are a few things I like to keep in my kitchen for reasons outside of their intended purposes.  I thought I’d share some of my favorites with you.

3-IMG_7607

1.  Toothpicks.  These are great items to have around the kitchen, though I rarely use them for cleaning out the crevices between my teeth.  (I find dental floss to be much more effective in that arena.)

  • I like to have a few in my kitchen drawer for cleaning the tiny spaces between the range and the countertop.
  • They help to keep plastic film from clinging to the frosting when wrapping up leftover birthday cakes.
  • They’re also good to use as testers to check if my banana bread is finished baking.  
  • My husband also has this theory that any food item on a stick will market better.  Think: corndogs, potatoes on a stick, etc.  Sure enough, when we serve hors d’oeuvres at our house parties, the little tasties are an instant hit when I insert a toothpick in them!

2-IMG_7595

2.  Used aluminum foil.  I don’t keep around ALL the used aluminum foil.  You know how sometimes you tear off a piece to line a baking pan for oven-baked French fries or cookies and the foil still looks pretty shiny and clean when you take it out of the oven?  Those are the ones I save.  Typically, I fold them up in a neat square and store them in a drawer with my roll of good aluminum foil.

  • I use a square when I need to discard cooking grease.  
  • The best tip is to ball up a piece of foil to scrub your glass bakeware.  They really work in helping to get off all the baked-on food!  Can’t take the credit for this tip, though.  I learned it from Real Simple.

4-IMG_7613

3.  Sharpie and Scotch tape.  As I try to reuse as many things as possible, I keep these two on hand to label my Zip-loc freezer bags.  That way, I can wash out the bags and reuse them without making a mess of crossing off the names of previous contents.  I just rip off a piece of tape, adhere it to the bag, and write on the tape.  I remove the tape before washing.  Good as new!

1-IMG_7582

4.  Paper bags.  These are great to have on hand to help avocados ripen.  That’s pretty much all I use them for, so I don’t keep many in my kitchen.  I should build up a collection so I can use them for craft projects some day.  Haha!

dental-floss-af

Photo courtesy of Reader’s Digest

5.  Dental floss.  Same as how I don’t keep toothpicks to clean my teeth, I don’t keep dental floss in my kitchen for that reason either.  They are handy to have when you need to slice some soft cheese or cut a cake.  In a pinch, they’re wonderful to tie up a bouquet garni with… or to clean your teeth.  Of course, I don’t keep the mint variety in my kitchen; only the plain ones without any flavor.  Ew, imagine your cheese tasting minty!  Blech.

There you have my list of things I keep in my kitchen for random reasons!  What items do you keep in your kitchen that others might find weird?

Linking to: Embracing the Insanity

Follow Redesigned on TwitterPinterest, and Instagram.

Redesigned By M

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Valerie

     /  May 8, 2013

    I love these tips! I never thought to cut cheese or cake with dental floss!!
    Hmm, I use rubber bands and a square of plastic wrap or a sandwich bag to seal the tops of small containers. Yogurt cups, small jars, etc. 🙂

  2. Thanks! Glad I could share something new. ~M.

  3. I love the dental floss tip! Never would have thought of that!

  4. Glad you found this post helpful! ~M.

  5. I’ve often wanted to do it but never explored it…. How do you wash out your freezer bags effectively??

  6. It’s not too difficult, really. With bags that used to contain veggies, I just rinse it out. Bags that contained sauces or oils of any kind are turned inside out and washed with plain soap and water. I turn them inside out so it’s easier for me to clean. If you want more details, I’d be happy to do a post about this specifically. It can be a bit much to write here. Just say the word! Thanks for reading! ~M.

Leave a Reply

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!

