redesigned: Anthro Inspired Coat Hook

As I was perusing interesting coat hooks for my entry one day, I pinned a few from Anthropologie’s website that were quite adorable.  Here’s one that caught my eye:

Kinda cute, right?  My entry is primarily white and gray with a pop of red, so I thought this would be fun in that space.  I seriously considered paying the $12 (plus 12% sales tax) price tag for this hook, even scheduling a shopping trip in my calendar.  Then the universe gave me a smack in the face.  What was I thinking going to pay twelve bucks for a single hook?!  Especially when I knew I could DIM (do it myself).

Home Depot had this version for a third of the cost:

1-IMG_5930

I was able to add the pop of red in three simple steps.  I bet you expert DIY-ers know how I’m gonna do it, don’t you?  Tell me if you would have done it this way:

Anthropologie-Inspired Hook | Redesigned By M

Step 1.  Cover entire hook in cling wrap.  Secure the wrap at the knobs of the hook with painter’s tape.

Anthropologie-Inspired Hook | Redesigned By M

Step 2.  Spray paint the knobs.  Those of you who have been following my projects for a while will know that I have a leftover can of red paint from this project here.

Anthropologie-Inspired Hook | Redesigned By M

Step 3.  Wait for paint to dry, then unwrap the tape and cling wrap.

Anthropologie-Inspired Hook | Redesigned By M

Well, not too shabby, huh?  I know, I know… in the world of knock-offs, this was the stupid easiest of them all, but I just wanted to share with you what a complete nerd I almost was for buying the Anthro version!  Even us serial DIY-ers can have a brain fart now and again.

Anthropologie-Inspired Hook | Redesigned By M

What do you think?  I’d love to hear your feedback!

Total time:  About five minutes, not including dry time.  I recommend letting this hook cure completely for several days before hanging items from it.

Total cost:  The hook was $3.98, plus taxes.  I already had the can of spray paint leftover from another project, which puts this hook at $4.46.  I saved $8.02 going the DIY route.  Cha-ching!

Linking to: Craft And Repeat | Keeping It Simple | The Girl Creative | Mod Vintage Life | That DIY Party | C.R.A.F.T.

Follow Redesigned on TwitterPinterest, and Instagram.

Redesigned By M

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. I just looked at these on Saturday and I actually like yours much better, no matter the price!

  2. Smart thinking and it looks great!!

  3. A great quick DIY !

  4. Thank you!

  5. Thank you!

  6. It was unbelievably quick!

  7. Great job by not taking the easy, but more expensive route, to get what you want. It looks great.

  8. Thank you!

  9. Aw, thanks for sharing your opinion! =) ~M.

  10. Wow this is great and I agree – yours looks better 🙂

  11. Aw, guys! It was never meant to be a competition! Thanks for the compliment all the same. =)

  12. 4allseasons2000

     /  May 14, 2013

    Ooooh, I like yours so much better! Better size and lines and brighter red! I think every room needs a little pop of red somewhere and I am totally going to file your idea away for later when we move to our new place. Right now, I don’t have much of an entryway where I could put some hooks but it is something to keep in mind while house hunting at our next destination.

  13. The original black hook brightened up immensely with that pop of red! The lovely thing about DIY is that you can paint it any color you want. Good luck with the house hunting! ~M.

  14. i always wait for the anthro hooks to go on clearance! Great idea….I find old door mouldings and put the hooks on those!

  15. Love yours! So very clever indeed 🙂

  16. That sounds like the perfect touch! Do you have a great resource for old door mouldings where you live? I am still finding it a challenge to source out those sorts of antiques in my area. ~M.

  17. Thank you! ~M.

  18. Very clever!

  19. Thanks, Nita! ~M.

  20. So fun. Love that shade of red too. so bright!

  21. yes! any architectural salvage has them…there is one i like to go to that is near me.

  22. Thank you! Amazing how a little bit of red can change the whole feeling of it! ~M.

Leave a Reply

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!

