The Beginner’s Guide to Homemade Raspberry Jam

The Beginner's Guide To Homemade Raspberry Jam | Redesigned By M

A couple weeks ago, Mr. M and I went raspberry picking at a local farm. We returned home with 18 pounds of raspberries. We froze over half of them and saved the rest to snack on. Still, we couldn’t finish all the ones we left unfrozen, so I thought to make jam out of them.

Now, I must warn you that I have never in my life made jam before.

The Beginner's Guide To Homemade Raspberry Jam | Redesigned By M

So, what’s a beginner to do? I scoured the Internet for some easy recipes and decided to use this one from Jamie Cooks It Up. I didn’t follow Jamie’s instructions for sterilizing and canning as Mr. M thought it best to err on the safe side and boil the jars. I adjusted the sugar content according to taste. I think that if I had used all 7 cups of sugar as stated in Jamie’s recipe, we would be gagging over how sweet the jam is. I started with 6 cups and then added sugar a teaspoon at a time until it was the right amount of sweetness for us. I suggest you do the same as well.

Overall, it was fairly easy to do, but I was so nervous that I was going to screw it up somehow that I kept monitoring the pots and reading the recipe over and over that my hands-on time spent on this recipe probably doubled more than necessary. Plus, I wasn’t sure how this pectin worked, so I kept watching the pot expecting my raspberries to magically thicken up as soon as I dropped in the crystals. Nuh-uh. Will provide tips after the instructions.

The Beginner's Guide To Homemade Raspberry Jam | Redesigned By M

The Beginner's Guide To Homemade Raspberry Jam | Redesigned By M

Beginner’s tips to keep in mind:

  • Adjust sugar content according to your personal taste. The tartness of the raspberries will affect the recipe every time.
  • If you screwed up and added too much sugar, squeeze in some lemon juice to bring back in the tartness; again, just a little at a time until you get it right.
  • If you’re afraid of the raspberries splashing out of the pot and onto your face or arm, just turn down the heat.
  • 500mL = 1 pint = 2 cups
  • Keep jars in boiling water until you’re ready to can.
  • If you don’t have a pot big enough to cover the height of the jars, it’s fine to lay the jars on their sides. You may have to boil the jars in a couple of batches, though.
  • Don’t forget to skim the foam off the top of the jam before pouring in the jars. I did this even after adding the butter, just to be safe.
  • The consistency of the jam will still be very syrupy when you go to pour, but trust that this will thicken up as soon as 6-8 hours later. Just follow the boiling instructions according to the package.
  • The “pop” of the lids that indicate the jar is vacuum sealed is VERY loud. If you haven’t been scared off by a sound like a gun shot, the lids are not sealed yet. I had to wait more than 15-20 minutes before hearing them pop.
  • The jars are HOT coming out of the water baths. Handle with care.
  • Use the leftover boiling hot water to kill weeds in your yard; or let cool completely and water your plants or wash the dishes.

This recipe was actually quite easy! Now that I know what I’m doing, I’ll definitely be trying it again. Have you made jam before? Let me know of any tips I might have missed!

The Beginner's Guide To Homemade Raspberry Jam | Redesigned By M

Total time: Honestly, it took me 3 hours from start to finish. (Finish being waiting for the popping sound.) It really shouldn’t have taken me that long, but I was nervous that I was doing it all wrong, so I kept reading and re-reading all the instructions. Next time, I’m sure I’ll be able to do such a small batch in half the time.

Total cost: I don’t exactly know how many pounds of raspberries I used to make this, but I’m going to guess it was about two pounds. Each pound of hand picked raspberries was $1.75 from the farm. The sugar was $5.87 and the pectin was $1.18. Jars were 6.47 for 12. Total cost of all five jars of jam was $11.09 or $2.22 per jar.

**All canning jar labels courtesy of Lia Griffith. Thanks for creating such lovely labels, Lia!

Related Posts:

How To Hull Strawberries
Yum Yum Yum Homemade Ice Cream
How To Use A Whole Lemon

Linking To:

Southern Lovely
Kitchen Meets Girl
The Blackberry Vine
My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia
Elizabeth & Co.
The Dedicated House
Jam Hands
Home Stories A to Z
DIY Show Off
Twigg Studios
Made In A Day
Living Well, Spending Less
52 Mantels
The Shabby Creek Cottage
All Things With Purpose
Somewhat Simple
French Country Cottage
The Shabby Nest
My Romantic Home
Chic On A Shoestring Decorating
The Thrifty Groove
Common Ground
Thirty Handmade Days

Twitter | bloglovin’ | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest

Redesigned By M

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Awesome! We’ve been wanting to tackle canning this summer but haven’t gotten around to it. We’d love to try a jam, and now I’m convinced, you’ve made it look so stress-free. We also want to can some peaches, for those crazy holed-up winter days.

  2. I have had 0 luck with making jam. My solution is to eat all the fruit, freeze it, and make smoothies. This recipe seems direct enough for a kitchen-challenged person like me although so far, we’ve just eaten all the fruit.

  3. It really wasn’t so bad! If you just let the sauce boil to a bubble and then let it simmer for a few minutes after, everything comes together really quickly. I just didn’t know all the details behind it so I kept freaking out that I missed something. That’s why I’ve laid out the tips here for those who might have the same questions when trying it for the first time. Hope they help you too! I was JUST thinking the other day that I want to tackle canning peaches next. They definitely would be divine to have on hand during the winter days. ~M.

  4. Your comment made me laugh! Thanks for that! I’m quite a lazy cook: I like to make things with as few ingredients as possible and that don’t take up too much time. If I can make this jam, I’m sure you can too! Your method was my same method up until this jam escapade, but what’s the point of keeping a blog if I’m not going to challenge myself occasionally? ~M.

  5. This is such a great post! I am coming to the end of my berry season and have those last few left in the fridge that I don’t know what to do with. You have made this seem easy enough, I might give it a try. Thanks for those ‘beginner tips’ also. 😉 Love these labels, too!

  6. It was MUCH easier than I expected! Definitely give it a go and if you come across any questions, just ask me! ~M.

  7. sweet! very nice post. Great photos and my mouth is watering for homemade jam. You have a great sense for how to put a blog together 🙂 Appreciate you stopping by food for fun last week for poptails. Can see I’m going to have fun around here!

  8. Aw, thanks! I put a lot of effort into my blog, so I really appreciate your observation. ~M.

  9. Mmmm, I love me some homemade jam! Thanks for sharing this recipe and linking it up to Thrifty Thursday!

  10. I’m quite addicted to this jam now! I have it every morning and have to refrain myself from eating it for dessert in the evening. Haha ~M.

  11. Wonderful tutorial! thank you for sharing it with us at TTF!

  12. Thank you for hosting! ~M.

  13. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co.

     /  July 29, 2013

    So pretty! And it looks delicious!

  14. Thank you, Sharon! It is delicious… I’m quite addicted! ~M.

  1. Weekend Wandering | What I Loved This Week | Living Well Spending Less
  2. How to Declutter and Organize Garbage Day Challenge | Living like an Erythrocyte

Leave a Reply

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!

