[redesigned] Decorative Tray

Decorative Tray Redesigned | Redesigned By M

I found a tray at HomeSense one day that caught my eye. I liked the ruler design around the perimeter and the generous size, but there were two things I didn’t particularly care for:

Decorative Tray Redesigned | Redesigned By M

1. The hideous graphic in the center of the tray. I also am not a fan of cliché quotes. (Apologies if I’ve offended anyone for being honest about this.)

2. The ruler design around the perimeter that I love was upside down. Whaaaat?! Why????

It wasn’t a cheap tray and I should’ve walked away from it, but you know how you know something is worth buying when you can’t get it out of your head? For reasons unbeknownst to me, I couldn’t stop thinking about this tray! So I looked at it more thoroughly and decided I could pry apart the bottom of the tray, turn the rulers right side up, and find something to cover the graphic. Sold!

Decorative Tray Redesigned | Redesigned By M

Using a crowbar, I pried the bottom off the tray. I was left with nails along the perimeter walls, which were easily removed with a pair of pliers. I cleaned up the torn edges of the graphic by tearing off wherever the paper lifted.

Decorative Tray Redesigned | Redesigned By M

I flipped the walls of the tray right side up, then found some fabric in my scrap pile that coordinated well in that country schoolhouse vibe I wanted to achieve. The fabric was glued down with some spray adhesive, then the bottom of the tray was glued with construction adhesive.

Decorative Tray Redesigned | Redesigned By M

The top of the tray was bare with masonite, so I just coated it with some paint that I had on hand that was a near perfect color match to the existing off-white. Love when that happens!

Decorative Tray Redesigned | Redesigned By M

Now, I’m much happier with the redesigned tray. I think this will look nice in my sunroom…. uh, when I get to that part of my house.

What do you think of the new look I gave this tray?

Total time: Roughly 1.5 hours, not including dry time.

Total cost: The tray cost $19.99 from HomeSense. All other materials used were leftovers I had around the house. Final amount was $22.39, including taxes.

Related Posts:

Thrift Store Tray #1
Thrift Store Tray #2
New Bedroom Light
I Want The Mirror, Not The Candle Dish

Twitter | bloglovin’ | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest

Redesigned By M

Linking To:

A Stroll Thru Life
All Things With Purpose
Chic On A Shoestring Decorating
Coastal Charm
Colours Dekor
Common Ground
C.R.A.F.T.
Craft-O-Maniac
Crafty Confessions
DIY Show Off
Elizabeth & Co
Finding Fabulous For Less
French Country Cottage  
Home Stories A to Z
Homecoming
Homemaker On A Dime
Homework
House Of Hepworths
I Gotta Try That
Keeping It Simple
Knick of Time
Living Well, Spending Less
Mod Vintage Life
My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia
Nifty Thrifty Things
Skip To My Lou
So Much Better With Age
Southern Lovely
The Blackberry Vine
The Dedicated House
The Girl Creative
The Koenigs
The Romantic Home
The Shabby Creek Cottage
The Shabby Nest
The Thrifty Groove  
The Winthrop Chronicles
Thirty Handmade Days
Twelve O Eight
Twigg Studios

Leave a comment

35 Comments

  1. Aw I love that quote! But I do agree that it was really weird that the rulers were upside down…

  2. Haha… I knew I was bound to offend someone by confessing how I hate having silly quotes posted around my house. Sorry! ~M.

  3. not a fan of quotes either, I love how it turned out!

  4. Thank you!!! Glad to have one on my side on the cheesy quotes thing. ~M.

  5. Good fix! Love how you made it work for your home!

  6. Thank you! ~M.

  7. Oh you didn’t offend me! To each his own! =] I just think that one is cute, but I’m a sap – LOL!

  8. So cool! I did like the original though 🙂
    Xx,
    Zhenya
    http://beingzhenya.com

  9. ha! i wouldn’t have liked the quote either // it’s much better now! 😉

  10. I love what you did with it, it turned out very nicely. An upside down ruler would have bugged me too haha. I just started a refurbishing blog if you wanted to give it a look !

  11. The upside down ruler would make me crazy. So glad you changed it.

  12. It looks great! I’d love if you’d link up to The DIY’ers! http://homecomingmn.blogspot.com/2013/08/the-diyers-and-weekend.html

  13. Ah, we have different tastes! Hope you like the redesign still! ~M.

  14. Thanks so much! Glad you agree with me the quote had to GO! ~M.

  15. I’m glad I changed it too! There was no way the upside down ruler would have survived in my house. Will check out your blog in a minute! ~M.

  16. Right?! What were they thinking???? Maybe it was a manufacture defect, which was why they sold it at HomeSense. I really hope so… hate to think anyone out there is that mental. ~M.

  17. Just linked up! Thanks for the invite! ~M.

  18. Oh don’t get me wrong! I loved it!
    xx

  19. Thank you! 🙂

  20. Love it!! I have a tray i’m looking to redecorate but just been putting it off. Yours came out really nice and I love the cute saying. We host a link up on Wednesday I would love if you would stop by and link up.

  21. Marty@A Stroll Thru Life

     /  August 13, 2013

    What a fabulous makeover. I love it. thanks for linking to Inspire Me. Hugs, Marty

  22. Thank you!

  23. Thank you! I have a few more trays to makeover as well! I can’t seem to stop bringing home stray trays…. Thanks for the invite to your party. I’ll stop by tomorrow! ~M.

  24. I’m mainly confused about how rulers are connected to that quote. I may still be pondering that well into the evening. You’re brave for buying something non-cheap with the intention of yanking it apart…I’d end up with a mess on my hands for sure! 🙂

  25. Lol! Good point! I hadn’t thought of the pairing between the rulers and the quote. I understand why you’re thoroughly confused. As for the brave thing… well, let’s just say I like a challenge every now and then. 😉

  26. I have to take your side on the quotes- it’s not quite the same if it’s going to be in a hundred other people’s homes! Love it!

  27. I love that quote.. but yes.. the rulers look weird.. But I like.. how you’ve redone it.. 🙂
    ~ Patricia
    http://coloursdekor.blogspot.com/

  28. Thank you!! ~M.

  29. Thank you, Patricia! ~M.

  30. haha, I love the controversy on the quote! I actually thought the quote was the after picture until I read your post. Honestly it is cute either way. I’m with everyone on the annoying upside down ruler thing

  31. Yes, that quote is quite the debate! Haha. I’m glad I wasn’t the only one who thought the upside down ruler was stupid.

  32. Well I really like the change you made to this tray. Upside down ruler looked awful and I’m not a fan of some quotes. That one would not appeal to me and I didn’t like it’s graphics anyway! So your change was wonderful. Thanks for linking with TTF.

    Linda

  33. Thanks, Linda! Happy to hear you side with me on the hideous graphic and cheesy quote. ~M.

  34. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co.

     /  August 19, 2013

    So much better now!

  35. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!

