The Perfect Simple Scones

The Perfect Simple Scones | Redesigned By M

The other day I had a craving for some scones to go with my homemade raspberry jam. I decided I’d make them instead of going out to the store to buy them. (It was a Sunday morning and I was feeling lazy.) I don’t normally post recipes on my blog, but these were so absolutely perfect that I couldn’t help but share them with you. They make an excellent blank slate for butter, cream, or jam or all three!

The Perfect Simple Scones | Redesigned By M

Ingredients 

Makes 8 scones
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 8 tablespoons unsalted butter, frozen
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 large egg

Directions

  1. Adjust oven rack to lower-middle position and preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Grate butter into flour mixture on the large holes of a box grater; use your fingers to work in butter (mixture should resemble coarse meal).
  3. In a small bowl, whisk sour cream and egg until smooth.
  4. Using a fork, stir sour cream mixture into flour mixture until large dough clumps form. Use your hands to press the dough against the bowl into a ball. (The dough will be sticky in places, and there may not seem to be enough liquid at first, but as you press, the dough will come together.)
  5. Place on a lightly floured surface and pat into a 7- to 8-inch circle about 3/4-inch thick. Use a 2-inch round cookie cutter to make round scones. The first round of cuts will yield four scones. Reshape the remaining dough into a flat circle again and repeat the cuts. The second round of cuts will yield two scones. The third round will yield one scone. The last round will be just enough for one more scone. Press dough within the round cookie cutter to shape. Place all scones on a cookie sheet (preferably lined with parchment paper), about 1 inch apart.
  6. Bake until golden, about 15 to 17 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes and serve warm or at room temperature.

This recipe was slightly modified from the original from allrecipes.com.

The Perfect Simple Scones | Redesigned By M

This recipe was perfect for so many reasons. There was exactly the right amount of dough to make eight scones as indicated (this almost never happens in baking recipes). The scones had the right amount of sugar and it took exactly 15 minutes in a 400F oven, just like it said! They were perfectly soft and moist on the inside and crispy on the outside.

The Perfect Simple Scones | Redesigned By M

They are perfect with jam! Oh man, did these scones hit the spot!

The Perfect Simple Scones | Redesigned By M

How To Get Them Perfect:

  • My flour came pre-sifted, but if yours doesn’t, make sure to sift your dry ingredients.
  • Make sure to measure out your dry ingredients perfectly by using a butter knife to level out the amounts in your measuring cups.
  • Don’t over mix your ingredients.
  • Only half a handful of flour is needed to dust your surface when you go to shape your dough. Don’t overflour!
  • Set your timer at 15 minutes at EXACTLY 400F… no cooler, no hotter.

The Perfect Simple Scones | Redesigned By M

I will DEFINITELY be making these again!

These scones are best paired with:

The Beginner's Guide to Homemade Raspberry Jam | Redesigned By M

Twitter | bloglovin’ | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest

Redesigned By M

Linking To:

52 Mantels
All Things With Purpose
House of Hepworths
Kitchen Meets Girl
Living Well Spending Less
Made In A Day
Nifty Thrifty Things
The Charm of Home
The Girl Creative
The Shabby Creek Cottage
Twigg Studios

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Will definitely give these ago. An always on the look out for the ‘perfect’ scone recipe!!!

  2. One of my prospective students was looking for a scone recipe the other day…totally sending this her way!

  3. Those look super tasty. And I must love homemade jams!

  4. That’s awesome! Didn’t know this post would have such an impact. ~M.

  5. They’re both delicious! ~M.

  6. I hope it works out as well for you as it did for me! ~M.

  7. Super round scones = cute (I don’t know why); sooo much prettier than drop scones.

  8. I love round scones too! I think the 2″ ones are just the right serving size, unlike the triangular ones or the drop ones.

  9. Yum yum yum yum yum yum!!!! I love the shot with the buttery goodness!!! Will have to give this a try!!!

  10. I think I’m gonna make a new batch this weekend…. if I find the time!

  11. They look great. Can’t wait to try to make them!

  12. I hope you do! They’re delightful things!

  13. Your scones look so light and fluffy! Yum, I’m inspired!!
    Blessings,
    Leslie

  14. They were an absolute treat! I want to eat them all the time! ~M.

  15. They look wonderful! Thank you for joining HSH!
    Sherry

Leave a Reply

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!

