[redesigned] Chalkboard Painted Candle Holders

Paint your outdated candle holders with chalkboard paint and create any design you want, whenever you want! | Redesigned By M

I was given these candles as a housewarming gift nearly a couple of years ago. I loved the candles – one can always find a use for candles – but I didn’t particularly like the color of the glass candle holder. Plus, there was this “peace” symbol on the glass, and along with my dislike of cliché phrases as noted in this post, I also don’t like cliché symbols.

Paint your outdated candle holders with chalkboard paint and create any design you want, whenever you want! | Redesigned By M

I thought I’d give these candles a new look with chalkboard spray paint. It was a very easy project. See below!

Paint your outdated candle holders with chalkboard paint and create any design you want, whenever you want! | Redesigned By M

First, cover the candle inside the holder with painter’s tape. Layer strips of tape in criss-cross pattern, leaving some to overhang the edge (because I’m not a perfect tape-r).

Paint your outdated candle holders with chalkboard paint and create any design you want, whenever you want! | Redesigned By M

If you are not a perfect tape-r like me, then roll the excess tape into the candle holder, keeping the edge of the holder exposed. You’ll want to paint this part to make the holder look cohesive.

Paint your outdated candle holders with chalkboard paint and create any design you want, whenever you want! | Redesigned By M

As I cleaned the holders in my third step, I found that I could’ve easily just removed the peace symbols because they were just stickers! Ugh! If only I had looked into that before making up my mind about painting them. Oh well… too late now. I must have chalkboard painted candle holders.

Paint your outdated candle holders with chalkboard paint and create any design you want, whenever you want! | Redesigned By M

Here’s my painting studio. Haha – fancy, huh?

Paint your outdated candle holders with chalkboard paint and create any design you want, whenever you want! | Redesigned By M

Just a couple light coats of chalkboard spray and these candle holders were redesigned! Wait a few beats for the holders to thoroughly cure before handling.

Paint your outdated candle holders with chalkboard paint and create any design you want, whenever you want! | Redesigned By M

I’ve recently become enamored with chalk markers. They are so much less messy to work with than the traditional chalk and they don’t smear as easily (once dry). If you’re a regular reader, you’ll remember I used chalk markers on my planter pots, too.

Paint your outdated candle holders with chalkboard paint and create any design you want, whenever you want! | Redesigned By M

Whether using chalk markers or real chalk, draw any sort of pattern or design you want. I love the flexibility of my new candle holders.

Paint your outdated candle holders with chalkboard paint and create any design you want, whenever you want! | Redesigned By M

They even do lovely with written messages. Happy Monday! Hope you had a great weekend!

Total time: Taping and painting took about ten minutes. I let these holders cure for a whole weekend before drawing on them.

Total cost: Chalkboard spray paint can be purchased from The Home Depot for about $4-5. The chalk markers can be found at Michaels for about $10, but don’t forget to use their 40% coupon (which they offer regularly) for a discounted price. The paint and markers can be used for many, many projects around the house, which makes this particular redesign very affordable.

Twitter | bloglovin’ | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest

Redesigned By M | Signature

Linking To:

DIY Show Off
Living Well Spending Less
Nifty Thrifty Things
Twigg Studios
Watch Out, Martha!

Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. That looks uber cute! I’ve gotta try that with my herb pots!

  2. Uh, this is so brilliant! It’s definitely one of those “why didn’t I think of that?” moments. LOVE.

  3. Love them. And what a neat painting studio!

  4. Great idea. I never think to makeover stuff made out of glass.

  5. Did you see my post when I painted my terra cotta pots?

  6. Aw, thanks! I would do everything in chalkboard paint if I could! Imagine changing the look of all our objects everyday! Haha

  7. Haha, thanks!

  8. Thank you! I’ve got a few more glass projects in the works.

  9. Love these!! I love chalkboard paint. This would be a great hostess gift!

  10. You’re so right! I hadn’t thought of that!

  11. Love this idea with the mat paint. Its not one that would rub off is it only i have an idea but need a mat black that wont rub off/stain etc?

  12. The paint doesn’t rub off. Spray paint does a really good job at adhering to various surfaces. The chalkboard marker, however, does rub off as that’s not permanent. Hope that answers your question!

  13. You have some wonderful ideas! Does the paint cope okay with heat? Love the patterns you drew too!

  14. I’ve skipped out on so many good smelling/inexpensive candles because I couldn’t stand their holders. I will have to try this!

  15. I love chalk markers! I’ve used them for so many projects. This is totally cute and I’ll have to give it a try!

  16. Who doesn’t love chalk paint? Nice project.

  17. I especially love that you can use it on glass as well. I’m a sucker for things that have multiple purposes! ~M.

  18. Aren’t they so fun?? I’ve used them to draw on glass as well… what a great invention! ~M.

  19. I think I have too! Now you know spray paint is the cure for anything! ~M.

  20. Ach! Were you talking about the paint or the markers? Sorry if I confused you in my reply! Chalkboard paint is wonderful too! ~M

  21. What a brilliant idea. I’ve been experimenting with durable emulsions for larger projects – darker colours can handle chalk on top.

  22. Oh, how fun. I have some boring candles laying around and I absolutely think I need to paint them now. Thanks for sharing and linking up to Thrifty Thursday.

  23. Hey Amy! Glad you liked these candle holders! I love their versatility with the new look. I had to test out the candles before I could respond and I’m happy to report back that I let them burn for 3 hours without any problems. (They’re small candles, so I couldn’t let them burn too long.) ~M.

  24. Thanks! I just found some more holders that I think could use a new look as well! ~M.

  25. Cool! Thanks for the compliment! ~M.

  1. Weekend Wandering | What I Loved This Week | Living Well Spending Less

Leave a Reply

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!

