Happy Housiversary To Us!

The old exterior of the house. There's that large pretentious gate I mentioned (on the left).

The way our house looked when we first moved in two years ago.

Yesterday marked the second year we moved into our home. This is a significant milestone for me particularly because I have never lived in one place so long since moving out of my parents’ house at age 21. It is also the first time I’m living somewhere that I own and can make real changes to. Not even my parents’ place belonged to them.

My first apartment was a ground level two-bedroom in a 9-unit complex built in the 70’s, or perhaps earlier, on the west slope of Seattle’s affluent Queen Anne neighborhood. I was happy here for the first year. I had finally saved up enough money to fly free from the coop and establish my own independence.

After a year in, I started to feel lonely in this spacious apartment all by myself. I didn’t have enough overnight guests to occupy the second bedroom so that felt like wasted square footage. Six months later, I moved out of that apartment and into a house with two other housemates. I never looked back.

Every place I lived in after those 18 months in the two-bedroom in West Queen Anne was less than one year. I have quite the long list of places I’ve lived in since then, so I’m more than thrilled to have finally found some roots to call my home.

Never in a million years would I have imagined I’d ever live in Vancouver, Canada. Or anywhere in Canada, for that matter. Not that I have anything against Canada. I grew up in Seattle, so Canada has always felt like my own backyard. It’s like the next door neighbor you go to visit once in awhile because they have really good food and you’re cordial to, but you’re not best friends with. But, you never know when love will hit and that’s how it led me here.

Speaking of dreams, the house we bought in Vancouver is not the house of my dreams. I’ve always been in love with brick homes in something of a Georgian style architecture. Not necessarily with the large columns, but a large veranda would have been very lovely. I imagined two floors with an attic. Something with an open space plan so I could easily entertain from the kitchen and have a good view of everything going on in the dining or living rooms.

Instead, we couldn’t resist the perfectly practical floor plan and move-in ready appeal of the 1950’s bungalow we live in now. The stucco exterior made me gag, to tell the truth. There was absolutely no curb appeal and the front gate was too oversized for the house, which made the residents look pretentious. It was easy for me to overlook that initially because I am an interior designer and it’s what matters inside that counts the most, right????

Lucky for us, the previous owner gutted the bathroom and remodeled the kitchen so everything was modern and attractive. We didn’t have to do any work except to order in the “big girl” sofa and move in. There’s still a ton of work to do before this house becomes everything I want it to be, but I never thought I could love a home so much. I almost don’t even enjoy traveling anymore because I get so homesick for my cozy bungalow in Vancouver. One day, it’ll be finished and of course, I shall share all my redesigns with you.

Until that time comes, here’s a preview of what our house looked like two years ago when we took ownership:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s not gorgeous now, but I guarantee that it will be in another two years. Hope you’ll stick around for the journey!

Take a look at some of these changes I’ve already made to the house:

Landscape Makeover | Redesigned By M

How To Refinish Wood Floors | Redesigned By M

Pantry Makeover | Redesigned By M

Linen Closet Makeover | Redesigned By M

Twitter | bloglovin’ | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest

Redesigned By M | Signature

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. That sunroom.

  2. I’m having kitchen envy!

  3. A Wee Nest

     /  October 2, 2013

    I would love to own a bungalow in East Van (that’s where I great up). The Mr isn’t a fan of the area (sad face) so we ended up in a townhome in Burnaby. Just last night I dreamed about moving back to Vancouver. I love what you’ve done with the place. The charcoal grey exterior looks amazing!

  4. I love the changes! They look phenomenal. Wouldn’t be able to tell you had no clue about landscaping to start. 🙂

  5. That house is so cute, I’m jealous.

  6. Haha… thanks! I wanna freshen it up a bit down the road, but for now, it’s very functional. ~M.

  7. Aw, thanks! I had a really great landscaper help us suggest the right plants. If I had done it alone, we’d probably have a pretty sorry yard within a month. Stick around for more changes… I’m always creating. 🙂

  8. I love it, too! ~M.

  9. My husband grew up here, too, and he insisted that we remain close to this area. We’re in a fantastic location, so there were no arguments from me there! Would you ever want to meet up? We could talk design and blog, currently my two favorite subjects. 🙂

  10. Congratulations on your milestone! I know the feeling. I have never in my entire life been in a house for four years. If I make it to January 28th, the Cape of Dreams will be the first. So hard to believe!

  11. That’s awesome! Is there any reason why you wouldn’t still be there on Jan 28th?

  12. No reason at all. I just feel I will jinx it if I say it! :-$

  13. Average But Inspired

     /  October 2, 2013

    Beautiful home! Congrats! Isn’t it amazing how much pride you feel when you make a house into your home?

  14. happy housiversary to you! (love that term/reason to celebrate) the photographs are absolutely gorgeous. you’re very lucky!

  15. And you’re always inspiring! Thanks! Love seeing the work you do. 🙂

  16. Awww! That totally put a smile on my face! =D

  17. Thank you! I’ve waited all my life to have a home to call my own, so yes, I’m definitely very proud and having the best time making this place homey!

  18. Thank you! I do feel very blessed! Can’t wait to see this house complete. 🙂

  19. WOW!!!! I love bungalows!!! And I don’t mind the gate at all. I’d put a wisteria or jasmine to climb up it! And that sunroom makes me want to go bonkers!!! I love it all – not to mention it’s ALL YOURS!!!

  20. This house has so much potential. Can’t wait to see it all completed… hopefully sooner than later! ~M.

Leave a Reply

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!

