[repurposed] DIY Calendar Made Of Found Objects

DIY burlap calendar made from repurposed materials | Redesigned By M

Several months ago… possibly even more than a year now… I made a calendar out of a picture frame and some paint chips for our command center in the kitchen. It looked like this:

DIY burlap calendar made from repurposed materials | Redesigned By M

It served us well for many months. My husband did a good job at changing it out every month, but I soon grew bored of it. It was time for a change and here are the reasons why:

DIY burlap calendar made from repurposed materials | Redesigned By M

I’m actually in the midst of completely organizing my command center. It never got to the point of completion after this calendar was made and we have much need for it to be finished now. And you know me… a reorganization project often calls for a new look and new design direction. I can’t quite say what my design intent is for the new command center… maybe Parisian chic? I think this new look will go nicely with the white cabinets and black trim I eventually want to make over my kitchen with. This calendar was made of leftover material from various projects in the efforts of being cost effective and environmentally friendly.

DIY burlap calendar made from repurposed materials | Redesigned By M

After my wedding, I had so much burlap left over from all the decor that I’m still finding ways that I can reuse it. (I also used some of the burlap for this project here.) It may be weird that I chose to use plastic strapping to lay out the calendar grid for this project, but it was what I had on hand. I guess tape would be a perfect alternative, but I didn’t want to put this project on hold just so I could run around town looking for the right colored tape in the right width. So, the moral of this story, kiddos, is to use what you have.

DIY burlap calendar made from repurposed materials | Redesigned By M

The steps are really simple, but the non-adhesiveness of the plastic strapping made for a lengthy project. Here’s the final result:

DIY burlap calendar made from repurposed materials | Redesigned By M

xx

DIY burlap calendar made from repurposed materials | Redesigned By M

Ahhh… no more crazy montage of colors! This burlap and white is a much more refreshing look, especially hanging on a chalkboard wall. More on that wall later…!

The glass of the frame protects the materials nicely and makes a great surface to use for dry erase pens or glass markers (my chalkboard markers double as glass markers – see where else I used the chalkboard markers here and here). The glass just gets wiped down with a wet cloth when using glass markers. Overhead projector pens can also be used on glass.

As always, please leave your feedback in the comments below! I love hearing from my readers!

Total time: This took place over the course of one Family Guy, one American Dad, and one whole movie of Win A Date With Tad Hamilton. (The movie just came on after the cartoons and I was too lazy to get up and change the channel.) That’s a total of 3 hours. (In comparison, the paint chip calendar took me all of half an hour.)

Total cost: The frame (from Ikea) cost me $11 after the 50% sale price. The plastic strapping and burlap were leftover materials from other projects. After taxes, the total for this calendar was $12.31.

Twitter | bloglovin’ | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest

Redesigned By M

Linking To:

52 Mantels
All Things With Purpose

Frugality Gal

Living Well Spending Less
The Shabby Creek Cottage

Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. I love the new look! And I love that you have the following month there too. very helpful!!

  2. The thirtyness of this idea alone is genius, but I love how beautifully you put it all together.

  3. Thanks! With the addition of the following month, hopefully, we won’t need to create a half/half calendar anymore!

  4. Thank you so much! Who says you can’t make beautiful things out of scraps? Haha ~M.

  5. it is a beautiful piece. Well done! I love the look and it is functional

  6. I love your resourcefulness. The packing straps are ingenious. It’s beautiful to boot. Congrats!

  7. I liked them both but burlap is so “in” now. Thanks for the “like” on “theworminmyappple.com” God bless.

  8. Looks really nice! And great to use things you just had around.
    What happens when next month becomes this month? Just rewrite it all?

  9. awesome! you are too clever. And so cheap to make. 🙂

  10. Very Cool project! And those Date Nights are important,. Keep ’em up! 😉

    -Nizzy

  11. Awesome idea 🙂

  12. Thank you! I think it’ll be a big improvement on the old calendar.

  13. Thanks! I love being able to find new uses for everyday objects. 🙂

  14. Burlap is a great versatile material! Hopefully, it’ll have longevity in the design world.

  15. Yup! The glass makes it easy to wipe off the markings and start over. Hopefully, we’ll only need to update the calendar every other month with this 2-month method.

  16. Aw, shucks! Thanks! Who doesn’t love a frugal DIY, right??

  17. No kidding! Gotta make that couple time a priority! Thanks for checking out my project.

  18. rellay nice idea! Thanks!

  19. I really love this idea, you could use this thing forever!

    Thanks for sharing at Wine’d Down Wednesday! Pinning your post to our WDW Pinterest board to share with our followers! Hope to see you back at the party next week!

  20. You totally could! That’s the beauty of marking on glass. So easy to clean off!

  21. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!

