Gluten and Dairy Free Oatmeal Cranberry Cookies

GF-Cookies

My husband was recently diagnosed with gluten and dairy allergies. Around the house here, we’ve had to rearrange some eating habits and get creative with our menus in order for my husband to enjoy his food. One thing he hasn’t been able to enjoy much is sweets of any kind, which is an immense disappointment for a guy who has such a huge sweet tooth. I sought to make some treats for him by varying this recipe I found on the back of Trader Joe’s Rolled Oats bag. My husband loved them so much that he practically ate the whole batch in one evening.

2-IMG_3394

Recipe
Makes approx. 36 cookies

1/4 cup coconut oil (to replace butter)
1 1/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup sugar
3 cups rolled oats
3/4 cup brown sugar
4 handfuls of dried cranberries
2 Tbsp of ground chia seeds + 6 Tbsp of water (to replace 2 eggs)
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1. In a small bowl, combine chia seeds with water and let sit for 5 minutes.
2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
3. In a large bowl, combine sugar, brown sugar and coconut oil and beat until creamy.
4. Add chia seed mixture, vanilla and baking soda and mix well.
5. Stir in oats and cranberries.
6. Roll oat mixture into small mounds on a lightly greased cookie sheet and place about 2 inches apart.
7. Bake 10-12 minutes until lightly brown around the edges.

1-IMG_3392

3-IMG_3415

Hope you find them equally enjoyable! (If you don’t have a dairy allergy, feel free to substitute back in the butter and eggs I replaced.)

Twitter | bloglovin’ | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest

Redesigned By M | Signature

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Looks delicious! I will definately try making this, might add raisins in it too! 🙂

  2. Thank you for sharing this! I am gluten and dairy free too, and it is always nice to find great new recipes.

  3. Yum! I’ve recently starting cutting dairy of out my diet so I’m looking forward to giving these a try!

  4. They look so tasty, good job! It was very kind of you to consider your husband’s sweet tooth. I’m sure the coconut oil made a great addition to the taste too. I often substitute oil for butter and eggs if I need to do dairy free or, you know, I’ve run out of eggs (happens all the time!) :p

  5. Raisins would definitely be good! We just had dried cranberries on hand. 🙂

  6. You’re welcome! I’m more interested in gluten and dairy free recipes now that my husband can’t have either.

  7. I hope you like them!

  8. Good idea on the oil! I’ve used that as a substitute before when I didn’t have butter on hand. I didn’t research that coconut oil was a proper butter substitute, but I thought that the similar consistency would be an equal replacement. And the cookies don’t have a strong coconut flavor! (My husband doesn’t much like coconut.)

  9. Big chocolate chunks would be great here, although I wonder if they might keep the cookies from binding if used with the dried fruit. A little shredded coconut could also be good. Can’t wait to try these (in several iterations, apparently).

  10. Gluten and dairy? Poor guy! At least he has a great wife who makes fancy cookies for him! These look so good. There are no allergies in my house, but I’m making them anyhow! I think I’ll add walnuts and coconut flakes while I’m at it! Thanks for sharing!

  11. I don’t think they’ll have trouble binding. I think they’ll melt a little so will probably ooze all over the fruit. Mmmm! The original recipe actually says to use chocolate chips, but my husband has a slight allergy to that, too. And he doesn’t like the taste of coconut. *sigh* It’s quite the challenge to keep him happy! Hope you do try it and enjoy your many variations!

  12. I know, right?? Poor guy! At least we’re finding out today instead of 20 years ago when there were BARELY any options for good-tasting gluten-free food. Walnuts and coconut flakes would make great additions! Let me know how you like your version!

Leave a Reply

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!

