repurposed: Fiesta Ponchos

Upcycled Fiesta Ponchos: great for Cinco de Mayo | Redesigned by M

Upcycled Fiesta Ponchos: great for Cinco de Mayo | Redesigned by M

Let’s talk about the Mexican poncho in today’s second part post of planning a Cinco de Mayo party!  I’ve categorized this as a repurposed project because these ponchos were refashioned from table cloths.  Unable to find the perfect poncho at Value Village, I found the next best thing: upcycling a couple of striped table cloths.  It worked out really well because I only needed half the table cloth for a poncho and was still able to use the other half for its intended purpose (covering a table, duh!).

Upcycled Fiesta Ponchos: great for Cinco de Mayo | Redesigned by M

I cut the table cloth in half, folded that half in half again, and cut a half-circle at the fold for the neck hole.  I winged all this as I couldn’t be bothered with making a template.  I didn’t even bother finishing the edges and just left them raw.  The poncho still lacked its cultural panache, so I had to run off to Fabricana to buy some fringe to zhuzh it up.  That did the trick!  The fringe was applied with my trusty hot glue gun again.  There are just some things in life not worth breaking out the sewing machine for!

Upcycled Fiesta Ponchos: great for Cinco de Mayo | Redesigned by M

Total time: No more than ten minutes per poncho.

Total cost: One of the table cloths cost $8.99 and the other cost $7.99 from Value Village.  I got 5.4 yards of the fringe from Fabricana for $0.99/yard.  I was able to make three ponchos out of two table cloths and used half of one for a table cover during the party.  That makes each poncho a total of $6.75, including taxes.

Other Cinco de Mayo projects related to this post:
Fiesta Sombreros
Planning A Mexican Fiesta

Linking to: I Gotta Try That, Huckleberry Love, Creations By Kara

Redesigned is now on TwitterPinterest, and Instagram.  Follow me!

Redesigned By M

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Love the colors you chose. I love blues and greens currently, but am a sucker for the dusty pinkish red color any time!!

  2. Thank you! Unfortunately, when thrifting, you’re sometimes stuck with what you can find! Haha ~M.

Leave a comment

  • Visit me at my new home!

  • Visit me at my new home!